Book Review

Book Review : The House of Secrets by Sophie Draper

The following post may contain affiliate links. If you purchase from these links I may receive a small commission, but it does not cost you anything extra. I appreciate your support.

Hey friends! Today I’m bringing you a review for the book The House of Secrets by Sophie Draper.

*Disclaimer : I received a copy of this ebook for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Below you will find the description of the book provided by NetGalley, followed by my personal review and star rating. Enjoy!

This book is on sale now.

Description :

The chilling, atmospheric mystery with a twist – from the author of The Stranger in Our Home

She’s married to him. But does she know him at all?

Claire lives with her family in a beautiful house overlooking the water. But she feels as if she’s married to a stranger – one who is leading a double life. As soon as she can get their son Joe away from him, she’s determined to leave Duncan.

But finding out the truth about Duncan’s secret life leads to consequences Claire never planned for. Now Joe is missing, and she’s struggling to piece together the events of the night that tore them all apart.

Alone in an isolated cottage, hiding from Duncan, Claire tries to unravel the lies they’ve told each other, and themselves. Something happened to her family … But can she face the truth?

Dark domestic suspense with a twist – perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Megan Miranda

My Review :

Honestly, at some points during this book, I thought I might get sea sick with all the bouncing around. But, after a bit, I did get used to it and actually came to enjoy every shift in perspective and/or time jump.

This is truly a dark and haunting novel – I just wish that it had been a little more exciting as we got to the end.

There are some definite twists along the way, that is for sure…but sometimes, for me, the book was so uninteresting that I almost gave up on it.

The ending though did completely take me by surprise and you can see how and why certain things unfolded as they did. Claire and Duncan have some trauma in their past that neither of them really got over.

Destructive behaviors on both their parts causes their relationship to implode.

The House of Secrets is a family drama unlike anything I’ve ever read before.

⭐️⭐️⭐️