Book Review

Book Review – The Couple by Sarah Mitchell

Disclaimer : I received a copy of this eBook for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

From the publisher :

Whatever you think you know… you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home.

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose.

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus… or even herself.

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

My Review :

Have you ever been reading a book, and just been struck with this overwhelming sense of darkness? Like you’re positive something is going to come out of left field and completely shake your perception of the story, but you have no idea when it is going to hit. So until it does, you just keep paddling along in the murky water waiting to fall over the waterfall.

That’s what this book was like for me. I couldn’t shake this sense of just bleakness. The entire story felt like a rainstorm to me. I’ve never really experienced that sensation before.

Anyways, back to the book!

This book is dark and suspenseful with a twist that I never saw coming. I knew that something was up. There were some very seedy details that, to be honest, were rather heartbreaking.

At the beginning of the book, Claire seems like a woman that has a pretty great life, but also a past that includes a lot of heartache.

We don’t get a chance to see exactly what that heartache stems from until the very end – and wow.

I’d recommend you read this book. If you’re anything like me, you’ll be unable to sleep because you won’t be able to put it down.

⭐⭐⭐⭐

0

Author

Renee
reneecupp@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.