Book Review

Book Review : Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

Hey friends! Today’s book review is for “Head Over Heels” by Hannah Orenstein.

*Disclaimer – I received a copy of this ebook for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

What are you reading today? Let me know in the comments below. Also, in order to keep myself accountable – let me know how you’re progressing if you’ve decided to do the Goodreads Challenge. I am now 2 books behind schedule – hit a bit of a reading slump and am struggling! But I’ll get through it.

And now for the real reason you’re here – below you’ll find the description of the book provided by NetGalley followed by my personal review and star rating.

Thanks for dropping by today, enjoy! 💛

Description :

Named a best beach/summer read by O, The Oprah MagazineCosmopolitanParadePopSugarMarie ClaireBustle, and more!

From the author of the Love at First Like and Playing with Matches, an electrifying rom-com set in the high stakes world of competitive gymnastics, full of Hannah Orenstein’s signature “charm, whimsy, and giddy romantic tension” (BuzzFeed).

The past seven years have been hard on Avery Abrams: After training her entire life to make the Olympic gymnastics team, a disastrous performance ended her athletic career for good. Her best friend and teammate, Jasmine, went on to become an Olympic champion, then committed the ultimate betrayal by marrying their emotionally abusive coach, Dimitri.

Now, reeling from a breakup with her football star boyfriend, Avery returns to her Massachusetts hometown, where new coach Ryan asks her to help him train a promising young gymnast with Olympic aspirations. Despite her misgivings and worries about the memories it will evoke, Avery agrees. Back in the gym, she’s surprised to find sparks flying with Ryan. But when a shocking scandal in the gymnastics world breaks, it has shattering effects not only for the sport but also for Avery and her old friend Jasmine.

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jasmine Guillory, Head Over Heels proves that no one “writes about modern relationships with more humor or insight than Hannah Orenstein” (Dana Schwartz, author of Choose Your Own Disaster).

My Review :

I really enjoyed reading this book. It sent such a wave of nostalgia through me that was completely unexpected.

I was never a gymnast, but after watching the ‘96 Olympics, 11 year old me, along with my friends, pretended we were for a while.

Head Over Heels is not only a romance, but highlights a sexual abuse scandal as well. We also see a side to coaching that seems like something a lot of people can turn a blind eye to.

Avery, Ryan and Hallie are a great cast of characters I enjoyed getting to know.

I’d recommend this book.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

0

Author

Renee
reneecupp@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.