Book Review

Book Review – The Happiness Project by Pippa James

Disclaimer – I received a copy of this eBook for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

From The Publisher :

Prepare to be captivated by one of the most poignant and uplifting books you will read this year, perfect for readers who loved One Day in December and The Keeper of Lost Things.

1) Exercise more

2) Eat healthily

3) Learn how to live again…

Forty-year-old Alison Lund has always carefully planned everything in her well-ordered life, from colour co-ordinating her beautiful house to persuading her excitable son Alexander that sticker charts are more fun than misbehaving. But Alison’s perfect world has just fallen apart…

Her head is left spinning when her beloved larger than life mother-in-law, Maggie, passes away and Alison is left heartbroken. Every afternoon they’d talk and laugh over a pot of tea, she was the glue that kept Alison together through the first few tough years of motherhood. And now Alison is trying to figure out a future without her.

With a little help from her two best friends, Alison resolves to be more Maggie. After an emotional New Year’s Eve get together, the three women create a happiness project, challenging themselves to step outside their comfort zones and make the most of every single day.

Daring to do things differently, can Alison learn to live more spontaneously and find happiness along the way? Or will letting go be harder than she ever imagined?

My Review :

I appreciated the premise of this book. I really did. It just took so long to get where it was going that I almost gave up, multiple times.

I think this book is perfect for this time of year, when everyone feels the thrill of the “fresh start” as the calendar changes.

I personally don’t buy into the “new year, new you” jargon that gets thrown around a lot during this time, but that’s just my personal beliefs. I believe that you don’t magically change just because the year does. Change takes work, and courage and discipline. Which, ultimately is what resolutions are about – but that doesn’t happen overnight. You don’t become a whole new person, you just become a greater version of the you you already are.

These characters were easy to like, and I liked how their friendships evolved as the story was told. Frankie and Allison running the race together was my favorite moment – it showed true bonding between the 2 of them.

Overall, I’d say this book was just okay. It had some high moments, that is true. But for me, the pace of it was just way too slow.

⭐⭐⭐

0

Author

Renee
reneecupp@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.